Loud music will get you fined in Florida beginning July 1st. (Photo by Lennart Preiss/Getty Images)

If you like to crank up the tunes when you drive, you might want to turn it down a notch, or two. New fines for blasting your car radio in Florida go into effect Friday, July 1st.

The new law states that if your music can be heard 25 feet away from your car, you could get a fine, and it’s a bit hefty–$114.

A general reference point for that distance, the average car is about 15 feet. So the distance in which you could be fined is about two car lengths. Doesn’t seem like very far, unless the music that can be heard is that which you do not like.

I don’t know about you, but I’ve been known to turn it up loud when I’m having a good day and my favorite song comes on. I would NOT be happy about a ticket. On one hand this seems a little frivolous, a waste of time for police, or perhaps an excuse to pull someone over?

On the other hand, I’ve had my ears literally rattle when a car has pulled up next to me at a stop light with the base kickin.’ I would’ve loved it if someone had asked them to turn it down, at least enough so that my car was not vibrating along with theirs.

Oh, and the law doesn’t just apply to loud music. It also includes penalties for loud exhaust systems and vehicle mufflers. So if you’re neighbor is waking you up with theirs, you might finally have some recourse.

Those fines for blasting your car radio are just one of a list of new laws and ordinances that kick in on July 1st in Florida. Check here for some of the others.